natalucci

Thoughts...

WEDNESDAY, 07 SEPTEMBER 2005

I made dinner last night for the first time in a month, as that's how long we've been in New York City. It's not the first time I've cooked , cause I've made macaroni and cheese and a lot of ramen and a bowl of pasta once, but in terms of a full-on dinner, last night's was the first. I'd forgotten how nice it is to cook and eat at home. Back in Portland we'd eat out often, but usually we'd have dinners at home. The evening seems longer, the food a little healthier, and if it wasn't for the dishes and the food splatters all over the countertops, I think I'd do this much more often. Of course, in Portland it was simple. There were cars and grocery stores that had everything, and you didn't have to hit three different stores to get what you needed, and going to Safeway was one of my favorite things to do. The Husband and I used to go to Coscto on our date nights. Yes, I know, romantic. Here there are long lines and groceries that are too heavy to carry once purchased, and don't forget I'm entirely on foot, and it is so, so much easier just to call up the neighborhood Chinese joint or head down the street for some Chipotle burritos. (Incidentally, I learned just the other day that a vegetarian burrito from Chipotle has over 1,000 calories. And that's before they add the meat. I now understand why Dooce says in L.A. you never finish the burrito. That many calories in one sitting could darn well kill you!)

Today I have been just exhausted. This morning I nearly fell back asleep on the couch while the husband brushed his teeth. And I don�t normally fall asleep fast at all. I'm blaming my sleepiness on the lack of sleep we got over the weekend (I know it's already Wednesday, but maybe these kinds of things kick in later in the week?). The Husband's family was in town and we trekked it all the way to Flushing Meadows (what a gross name) to see the US Open with them, because they are the biggest tennis buffs EVER. Anyway, the matches were great and we saw Venus and Federer, but we didn't get home until 3 a.m. and for an anal-retentive scheduled sleeper such as me, that is bad, bad news. To blame for this is 1. the rampant stupidity of people and what happens when they get in large crowds (hello HERDING! can we say "moooo") and 2. the subway which forgets that New York is supposed to be the City that Never Sleeps and stops running trains after 10 p.m. So, three in the morning it was. The next night The Husband went out again with the family, this time to walk around Chinatown and SoHo, and I stayed home because I had a sore throat (still have it, thanks, with LOTS of wonderful drainage, yum) and because I am privy to the information that (a) Chinatown is VERY stinky after dark, and (b) that nothing of interest is open in SoHo at night except restaurants. The Husband went bravely on, saying "Oh, I'll be home soon, 2 hours tops." 4 hours later and still not home, I wake to my empty bed and sore-throat insanity and I'm calling every two seconds and HE'S NOT ANSWERING THE PHONE! Sigh. Of course, this is all back when I had a working cell phone. (Ricardo! I'm waiting patiently!) Anyway, he gets home at 1:30 in the morning and at that point all sleep has left me and I tossed and turned all night. And yes, 1:30 a.m. is late, and I'm a boring, old married person.

0 comments so far

PREVIOUS NEXT

...........................................................

Previous posts

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from natalucci. Make your own badge here.

Powered by Blogger
and Blogger Templates

hosted by DiaryLand.com